Sgt. Karen Gabianelli, Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP)
Sex Offender Unit (860) 685-8060.
|Offenders Required to Register:||
Connecticut requires, under C.G.S. 54-252, any person who has been convicted or found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect of a sexually violent offense, and (1) is released into the community on or after October 1, 1988, and prior to October 1, 1998, and resides in this state, shall, on October 1, 1998, or within three days of residing in this state, whichever is later, or (2) is released into the community on or after October 1, 1998, shall, within three days following such release, register with the Commissioner of Public Safety for life.
Connecticut also requires, under C.G.S. 54-251, any person who has been convicted or found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor or a nonviolent sexual offense, and is released into the community on or after October 1, 1998, shall, within three days following such release, and whether or not such person's place of residence is in this state, register with the Commissioner of Public Safety for ten years.
Connecticut also requires under C.G.S. 54-253, any person who has been convicted or found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect in any other state, in a federal or military court or in any foreign jurisdiction of any crime, the essential elements of which are substantially the same as any of the crimes specified in subdivisions (2), (5) and (11) of section 54-250 and who resides in this state on and after October 1, 1998, shall, within ten days of residing in this state, register with the Commissioner of Public Safety.
Connecticut also requires, under C.G.S. 54-254, any person who has been convicted or found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect in this state on or after October 1, 1998, of any felony that the court finds was committed for a sexual purpose, may be required by the court upon release into the community to register such person's name, identifying factors, criminal history record and residence address with the Commissioner of Public Safety.
Definitions for the terms "sexually violent offense", "criminal offense against a victim who is a minor" and a "nonviolent sexual offense" may be found along with the full text of Connecticut's Sex Offender Registry statutes in Volume 13, Title 54, Chapter 969 of the Connecticut General Statutes under the Legislative section at www.CT.gov.
|Information Collected:||Name, including all aliases used, address, inmate number, SPBI number, crime(s) requiring registration, date and place of conviction, date of registration and a complete physical description of the person including photograph, scars, marks, tattoos, fingerprints, palm prints, Internet identifiers and a DNA sample must be submitted to the Department of Public Safety.|
DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION (DESPP)
Sex Offender Registry Unit
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
|Timeframe for Registration:||Registered prior to release by the Department of Correction or within 3 days of release by DPS; Registrants must notify DPS, in writing, within 5 days of changing address. Any out of state offenders temporarily in the state must notify DPS within 3 days or if changing residence to this state within 10 days.|
|Applies to Out of State Offenders:||Yes - if the "essential elements" of the out of state crime are substantially the same as any of the crimes requiring registration.|
|Duration of Requirement:||10-year registration after conviction and release into the community for non violent and crimes against a minor victim. Lifetime registration after conviction and release into the community for crimes defined as a sexually violent offense under C.G.S. 54-250 or for any individual who is convicted of crime requiring registration who has a prior conviction of any such offense.|
|Verification of Address:||90-day address verification by non-forward able mail.|
|Penalties for Non-Compliance:||Class D felony.|
|Access to Information:||Under legislation effective October 1, 1998, two procedures for public access were established: (1) a copy of the sex offender registrations became available for public inspection in law enforcement agencies serving the sex offenders residence municipality, and (2) the statewide sex offender registry on the Internet was established, to be available January 1, 1999. Law enforcement agencies must make the copies of the registration information available during business hours. The Internet site is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.|
|Number Registered:||4,563 as of 07.30.13|
Or write for more information to:
Lt. Eric Cooke
Cocoon for KlaasKids
Polly’s Guardian Angel for iPhone & Android
Klaas Family Housing
Signature child ID Program
Utilizing high tech equipment
Always free to the public
We do not database your child’s personal/private information
Learn more about this important law. Click here.
If you found this information helpful, consider giving a donation to the foundation so we can continue this important work. Click here to donate.