Klaas Kids Foundation Homepage
Legislation Megan's Law by State

Megan’s Law for Illinois

updated 8/1/13

Contact Person: Illinois State Police, Sex Offender Registration Unit (217) 785-0653. If you would like to send us an inquiry, an anonymous tip on the location of a sex offender who is not in compliance, or a comment, please call us at (217) 785-0653 or write to us at 801 South 7th Street, Suite 200 South, Springfield, Illinois 62794
Offenders Required to Register:

Any adult or juvenile found guilty of any of the following offenses and attempts to commit any of the following offenses:

  • forcible detention, if the victim is under 18 years of age
  • child abduction (b)(1.9)
  • indecent solicitation of a child
  • indecent solicitation of an adult
  • public indecency for a third or subsequent conviction
  • sexual exploitation of a child
  • custodial sexual misconduct
  • sexual relations within families
  • soliciting for a prostitute, if the victim is under 18 years of age
  • soliciting for a juvenile prostitute
  • pandering, if the victim is under 18 years of age
  • keeping a place of juvenile prostitution
  • patronizing a prostitute, if the victim is under 18 years of age
  • patronizing a juvenile prostitute
  • pimping, if the victim is under 18 years of age
  • juvenile pimping
  • exploitation of a child
  • child pornography
  • aggravated child pornography
  • criminal sexual assault
  • aggravated criminal sexual assault
  • predatory criminal sexual assault of a child
  • criminal sexual abuse
  • aggravated criminal sexual abuse
  • ritualized abuse of a child
  • permitting sexual abuse of a minor
  • sexual misconduct with a person with a disability

A violation of any of the following sections of the Criminal Code of 1961, when the victim is a person under 18 years of age, the defendant is not a parent of the victim, and the offense was committed on or after January 1, 1996:

  • kidnapping;
  • aggravated kidnapping;
  • unlawful restraint ; and
  • aggravated unlawful restraint.

An adjudication as a sexually dangerous person. First degree murder of a person under the age of 18. First degree murder of a person over the age of 18 if offense is sexually motivated. Murderer & Violent Offender Against Youth Registration Act enacted on 6/27/2007. Convicted or adjudicated of first degree murder of victim age 18 or over are required to register as of January 1, 2012 for a period of 10 years. Only applies to those individuals released from prison or after January 1, 2002.

Information Collected: Name, permanent and temporary address, DOB, vehicle information, employment information, school information, conviction information, telephone/cell number, all electronic address information (blog, URL, email address, etc.) photograph, fingerprints, and DNA.
Administrating Agency: The Illinois State Police is the administrating agency for the sex offender registration program and Murderer & Violent Offender Against Youth Registration Program, but local and county law enforcement agencies complete the sex offender registration in Illinois.
Timeframe for Registration: A sex offender must report in person to the local law enforcement jurisdiction they are currently registered with to report a change of address within 3 days of their move. The sex offender must then also report to their new jurisdiction within 3 days of the move to register the new address.

A sex offender visiting in the State of Illinois for more than 3 days will be required to register with the local law enforcement jurisdiction they are visiting.
Applies to Out of State Offenders: Yes, regardless of state, federal, or out-of-country conviction. If an individual relocated to Illinois on or after 1-1-12 and has a duty to register in another state, that person is a lifetime registrant in Illinois. The automatic lifetime registration applies only to those individuals who relocate to Illinois on or after 1-1-12 (those arriving in Illinois prior to that date will be either a 10 year registration or a lifetime depending on their conviction information.)
Duration of Requirements:

Sex offenders in Illinois are required to register for either 10 years or for natural life (depending on the conviction and the date of conviction). 

A person who has been adjudicated as Sexually Dangerous, or Sexually Violent must register with the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction at his or her place of address every 90 days for natural life.

If a sex offender or sexual predator is convicted for a violation of the Illinois Registration Act on or after July 1, 2005, the offender will be required to register every 90 days for the remainder of their registration period.

Verification of Address:

The Illinois State Police is mandated to mail annual non-forward able address verification letters to each registered sex offender.

The agency of jurisdiction is also required to verify the address of sex offenders required to register with their agency at least once per calendar year. This verification must be made in person and must be documented in the statewide system.

Penalties for Non-Compliance:

Any person required to register who violates any of the provisions of the Sex Offender Registration Act is guilty of a Class 3 felony.  A second or subsequent violation of the Registration Act, is a Class 2 felony.  Mandatory minimum fine of $500 is incurred for failure to comply with the Act:

In addition to any other penalty required by law, the offender shall be required to serve a minimum period of seven days confinement in a local county jail.  A sentence of supervision shall not be imposed.

In addition to the mandatory confinement, a sex offender shall pay a mandatory minimum fine of $500. 

Failure to comply with the Sex Offender Registration Act will result in a 10-year extension of the registration period.  The 10-year extension starts when the sex offender registers after the violation. 

If a sex offender or sexual predator is convicted for a violation of the Act after July 1, 2005, he or she will be required to register every 90 days for the remainder of their registration period.

Access to Information: The name, address, date of birth, and offense or adjudication for registered sex offenders shall be open to inspection by the public. Every municipal police department shall make available at its headquarters the information on all registered sex offenders. The sheriff shall also make available at his or her headquarters the information on all registered sex offenders who live in unincorporated areas of the county. The information shall be made available for public inspection according to procedures set by the department or sheriff, or upon request of any person presented in writing, in person, or by telephone. The law enforcement agency may make available the information on all sex offenders residing within the county. Also, this information can be obtained through the internet link listed below.
Confidentiality Provision: No prohibitions against the secondary dissemination of information.
Number: 29,088 in database
Registered: 22,480 currently living in Illinois as of 7/01/12
Percent Compliance: 93%
Internet Access: www.isp.state.il.us/sor