Klaas Kids Foundation Homepage
Legislation Megan's Law by State

Megan’s Law for Montana

updated 8/1/13

Contact Person: Dawn Spencer - (406) 444-2497
Offenders Required to Register: Adult sex offenders, juvenile sex offenders court-ordered, juveniles convicted as an adult, 5/11/07 juveniles convicted of a qualifying sexual offense in MT. Montana also registers violent (non-sexual) offenders, which include offenders with convictions for offenses such as deliberate homicide, mitigated deliberate homicide, aggravated assault, partner/family member assault, assault on a peace officer, assault on a minor, assault with a weapon, kidnapping, aggravated kidnapping, robbery, arson, & operation of a clandestine laboratory .
Information Collected: Fingerprints, photograph, certain ID numbers, type of offense, physical description, date of birth, citizenship, phone number, current address, offense/conviction information.
Administrating Agency: State Department of Justice.
Timeframe for Registration: Within 3 business days of conviction, release from prison or supervision, coming into a county; 3 business days of changing address.
Applies to Out of State Offenders: Yes
Duration of Requirement: Life for sex offenders, 10 years for violent offenders.
Verification of Address: 90 days for tier 3 sexual offenders, 180 days for tier 2 sexual offenders, annually for tier 1 or non-designated sexual offender and violent offenders.
Penalties for Non-Compliance: Possible 5 years prison term and/or up to $10,000 fine.
Access to Information: Community notification is conducted by local law enforcement agencies. It is discretionary for all sex offenders. The names and addresses for all registrants are public information.
Confidentiality Provision: No
Number Registered: 2,311 as of 7/30/13
Percent Compliance: Not known
Internet Access: http://doj.mt.gov/svor/