Klaas Kids Foundation Homepage
Legislation Megan's Law by State

Megan’s Law for New Mexico

updated 7/30/13

Contact Person: Teresa Hernandez - Department of Public Safety (505) 827-3314.
Offenders Required to Register: All sex offenders, convicted on or after July 1, 1995 and all sex offenders convicted prior to July 1, 1995 who on that date were incarcerated, on probation or parole, and for persons found guilty of committing a sex offense on or after July 1, 2013.
Information Collected:
  1. the sex offender’s legal name and any other names or aliases that the sex offender is using or has used;
  2. the sex offender’s date of birth;
  3. the sex offender’s social security number;
  4. the sex offender’s current physical and mailing address and the address of every place where the sex offender habitually lives;
  5. the sex offender’s current physical and mailing address in the sex offender’s state of residence and, if applicable, the address of the sex offender’s place of lodging in New Mexico while working or attending school or an institution of higher education;
  6. the sex offender’s place of employment;
  7. the name of the school the sex offender is attending;;
  8. the sex offense for which the sex offender was convicted;
  9. the date and place of the sex offense conviction;
  10. the sex offender’s names, email addresses and monikers and other self-identifiers used on social networking sites, to be used only for law enforcement purposes;
  11. the sex offender’s landline and cellular telephone numbers and any other telephone numbers primarily used by the sex offender;
  12. the sex offender’s professional licenses;
  13. the license plate or other identifier and the description of any vehicle owned or primarily operated by the sex offender, including aircraft and watercraft;
  14. the name and address of any school or institution of higher education that the sex offender is attending; and
  15. copies of the sex offender’s passport and immigration documents.
  16. a photograph of the sex offender and a complete set of the sex offender’s fingerprints and a palm print;
  17. a physical description, including a description of any tattoos, scars or other distinguishing features on the sex offender’s body that would assist in identifying the sex offender; and
  18. a DNA sample for inclusion in the sex offender DNA identification system pursuant to the provisions of the DNA Identification Act.
Administrating Agency: Department of Public Safety, County Sheriff.
Timeframe for Registration:

For persons convicted prior to July 1, 2013: No later than 10 days after being released from the custody of the corrections department, a municipal or county jail or a federal, military or tribal correctional facility or detention center or being placed on probation or parole. A sex offender who changes his residence to New Mexico shall register with the county sheriff no later than 10 days after his arrival in this state. When a sex offender changes his residence he shall send written notice to the county sheriff no later than 10 days after establishing his new residence, a change in his living arrangements or temporary location.

For persons convicted on and after July 1, 2013: No later than 5 days after being released from the custody of the corrections department, a municipal or county jail or a federal, military or tribal correctional facility or detention center or being placed on probation or parole. A sex offender who changes his residence to New Mexico shall register with the county sheriff no later than 5 days after his arrival in this state. When a sex offender changes his residence he shall send written notice to the county sheriff no later than 5 days after establishing his new residence, a change in his living arrangements or temporary location.

When a sex offender who is registered changes any information required, the sex offender shall send written notice of the change on a form approved by the department to the county sheriff no later than five business days after the change occurs.

When a sex offender who is registered changes residence to a new county in New Mexico, the sex offender shall register with the county sheriff of the new county no later than five business days after establishing the new residence. The sex offender shall also send written notice of the change in residence to the county sheriff with whom the sex offender last registered no later than five business days after establishing the new residence.

When a sex offender who is registered or required to register is homeless or does not have an established residence, but lives in a shelter, halfway house or transitional living facility or stays in multiple locations in New Mexico, the sex offender shall register each address or temporary location with the county sheriff for each county in which the sex offender is living or temporarily located. The sex offender shall register no later than five business days after a change in living arrangements or temporary location.

When a sex offender who is registered or required to register is employed, begins a vocation or is enrolled as a student at an institution of higher education in New Mexico, the sex offender shall disclose the sex offender’s status as a sex offender in writing to the county sheriff for the county in which the institution of higher education is located, the law enforcement entity responsible for the institution of higher education and the registrar for the institution of higher education no later than five business days after beginning employment, beginning a vocation or enrolling at the institution of higher education. The sex offender shall also send written notice of any change regarding employment, vocation or enrollment status at an institution of higher education to the county sheriff, the law enforcement entity and the registrar no later than five business days after the change in employment, vocation or enrollment status.

When a sex offender who is registered or required to register is employed or is enrolled as a student at a public or private school in New Mexico, the sex offender shall disclose the sex offender’s status as a sex offender in writing to the county sheriff for the county in which the school is located and to the principal of the school no later than five business days after beginning employment or enrolling at the school. The sex offender shall also send written notice of any change regarding employment or enrollment status at a school to the county sheriff and the principal no later than five business days after the change in employment or enrollment status.

Applies to Out of State Offenders: Yes
Duration of Requirement: 10 to 20 years or lifetime, depending on the conviction and the release date from incarceration or supervision.
Verification of Address: Yes.
Penalties for Non-Compliance: 4th degree felony. One year prison sentence for non-compliance.  3rd degree felony for subsequent offense.
Access to Information: Within 7 days of receiving registration information the County Sheriff shall inform every licensed daycare center, elementary school, middle school and high school within a one-mile radius of place of residence. The public can also obtain sex offender registration information by reviewing the SORNA website or by contacting the County Sheriff.
Confidentiality Provision: Yes.
Number Registered: 3,793 as of 8/1/13
Percent Compliance: Not known*
Internet Access: