Klaas Kids Foundation Homepage
Legislation Megan's Law by State

Megan’s Law for Oregon

updated 9/20/13

Contact Person: To get a list of the registered sex offenders in your city, you must call the Oregon State Police General Headquarters in Salem at 1-503-378-3725, extension 44429. This number is for an automated attendant. You will be asked to leave your name, address, and the zip code for the city you want. Under normal circumstances, it takes approximately one week to process your request.  Release of information is based on Oregon Revised Statute 181.592.
Offenders Required to Register: Any adult convicted of a sexual crime listed in ORS 181.594; any juvenile adjudicated in juvenile court for a sexual crime listed in ORS 181.594 that equates to a Class A or B felony. Different crimes and circumstances require registration based on when they were adopted into Oregon law.
Information Collected: Name, addresses, phone numbers, physical description, photograph, fingerprints, DNA, vehicle information, driver's license # and SSN. Location and phone number of employment and institutions of education.
Administrating Agency: Oregon State Police.
Timeframe for Registration: Within 10 days of release from a correctional institution, detention center or court; no later than 10 days of changing address; 10 days of moving into Oregon from another jurisdiction. Annual within 10 days of the person's birth date. Higher Education within 10 days of 1st day of employment or 1st day of class attendance and no later than 10 days after status change in employment or attendance.
Applies to Out of State Offenders: Yes, if convicted for a sex crime or required to register in another state; includes persons who compact their supervision or incarceration to Oregon.
Duration of Requirement: Life; may petition for waiver after 10 years if they have been convicted of one C Felony or less; juvenile adjudications only no sooner than two years after release from probation or two years of registering in Oregon if moved into the state.
Verification of Address: County wide sex offender sweeps; higher education institution checks and annual statement mailings.
Penalties for Non-Compliance: Class C felony for failure to complete initial registration. Failure to annually register is a Class A misdemeanor. Failure to register change of address or higher education is a Class A misdemeanor or C felony depending on conviction. A person who fails to sign and return an address verification form as required by ORS 181.598 (2) commits a violation.
Access to Information: Community members can contact local law enforcement agencies and request information on registered offenders either individually or lists of offenders by geographic area. For individuals designated as sexual predators notifications have included television and radio announcements, community meetings, newspaper articles, door-to-door flyers, posting of the offender’s residence and listing on the Oregon Predatory Sex Offender Public website at http://sexoffenders.oregon.gov. Method is dependent upon geographic location and population density. Notice may include: name, address, physical description, type of vehicle driven, any conditions of probation, parole or conditions of release, description of primary and secondary targets and method of offense, current photograph, and probation or parole officer’s name or phone number. Standard information released on registered persons not under supervision for their first sex crime includes name, date of birth, address, city, zip code, physical descriptors, and photograph.
Confidentiality Provision: Persons are advised the information provided is for their personal use.
Number Registered: 20,374 active registrants in Oregon (live, work or attend school in Oregon)
Percent Compliance: 70.2%
Internet Access: Oregon Sex Offender Registry – http://sexoffenders.oregon.gov/