Klaas Kids Foundation Homepage
Legislation Megan's Law by State

Megan’s Law for Texas

updated 9/19/13

Contact Person:

Texas Department of Public Safety
Crime Records Service (Registration Inquiries) – (512) 424-2800
Intelligence & Counter Terrorism Division (Compliance/Enforcement) – (512) 424-2200

Sex Offender Registration Program - MSC 0230
Texas Department of Public Safety
PO Box 4143
Austin TX 78765-4143

Registration questions: txsor@dps.texas.gov
Compliance and enforcement related issues: cle@dps.texas.gov

Offenders Required to Register: A person who has a reportable conviction or adjudication received on or after September 1, 1970, who is an extrajurisdictional registrant, or who is required to register as a condition of parole, release to mandatory supervision, or community supervision.
Information Collected: The person’s full name, each alias, date of birth, sex, race, height, weight, eye color, hair color, social security number, driver’s license number, shoe size, home, work, or cellular telephone number, and home address; photograph, fingerprints, the type of offense the person was convicted/adjudicated of, the age of the victim, the date of conviction, the punishment received; supervision status, each occupational license that is held or sought, indication if person is employed, carrying on a vocation or student at an institution of higher education, name and address of the institution and employer, online identifiers and risk level and other information required by the Department.
Administrating Agency: Texas Department of Public Safety (Repository),  local law enforcement authorities (Registrars)
Timeframe for Registration: Not later than 7 days after arrival in the municipality or county of residence.
Applies to Out of State Offenders: Yes.
Duration of Requirement: Lifetime registration.  Offenses that do not require lifetime registration register until the 10th anniversary of the date of discharge from supervision.  Juveniles register for the post-10 years.
Verification of Address:
  • Civilly Committed sex offenders – every 30 days.
  • Adult sex offenders with two or more offenses defined as sexually violent – every 90 days.
  • All other sex offenders – annually.
Penalties for Non-Compliance:
  • If requirement is based on a 10-year registration requirement – State jail felony.
  • If requirement is based on lifetime registration/annual verification requirement – third degree felony.
  • If requirement is based on lifetime registration/90-day verification – second degree felony.
  • If civilly committed – second degree felony.
  • Punishment is enhanced one level if offender has previously been convicted of non-compliance.
Access to Information: Registry data is public information (including the risk level and photograph of the offender) with the exception of certain information designated as non-public by statute. Postcard notification to community on registrants who are civilly committed or who are assessed as High Risk. Citizens may contact their local law enforcement agency or visit the Texas Department of Public Safety’s online registry for a listing of reported registrants.
Confidentiality Provision: All other registration information required for law enforcement purposes is not released to the public. A registrant’s Social Security Number, phone numbers, driver’s license number, online identifiers, information required by the Department, information regarding an employer’s name, address, or telephone number and information which would identify the victim is also non-public.
Number Registered: 78,445 as of 9/02/13
Percent Compliance: N/A
Internet Access: http://records.txdps.state.tx.us/DPS_WEB/SorNew/index.aspx/