||Jim Ingle Utah Department of Corrections 801-495-7700
|Offenders Required to Register:
||Adult sex and kidnap offenders. Juveniles who were/are in the custody of Juvenile Justice Services 30 days prior to their 21st Birthday.
||-Names & aliases
-Primary and secondary addresses
-Vehicles the offender owns or regularly drives (includes make, model,
color, year, plate #, and VIN #)
-Set of fingerprints, if not already provided
-DNA specimen taken in accordance with Section 53-10-404
-Telephone #'s whether hard line or cell
-Internet identifiers, including website name and address (includes P2P and
gaming platforms). Exempts work and financial accounts, and passwords.
-Copy of passport
-Any documents which establish the offender's immigration status
-Professional licenses authorizing an offender to engage in an occupation or
carry out a trade or business, including #'s
-Educational institution affiliation (student, carries on a vocation,
-Name and address of any place where the offender is or will be employed
-Name and address of any place where the offender works or will work as a volunteer
-Social Security number
||Utah State Department of Corrections.
|Timeframe for Registration:
Within 3 working days of any change
in the offender's address, vehicle information, employment information, or
educational information. All offenders must register every 6 months, during
their birth month and the 6th month thereafter. Also, all offenders must be
*Upon being placed on probation
*Commitment to a secure correctional facility operated by or under contract
*Release from confinement to parole status or termination/expiration of
*Entrance/Exit to a community-based residential program operated by or under
contract to UDC
*Termination of probation or parole
Beginning 07/01/2006 - Registration timeframes reflect the following
changes: 10 days of entering the state for any purpose;
|Applies to Out of State Offenders:
Jurisdiction also includes Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, and New Zealand as of 5/10/2011.
|Duration of Requirement:
The duration of sentence and for 10 years
following termination or expiration of that sentence, or which may be for
life. This depends on what the original registerable conviction was for
Beginning 07/01/2006 -
. Individuals who have a registration requirement in another
state (or former state of residence) and who move to Utah, will be required
to register with the State of Utah for the length of time required in the
previous state or under Utah guidelines, whichever is longer.
. Individuals who are a Non-Resident students or Non-Resident
workers and who are in the State of Utah for any
purpose, must register upon the 10th day, and will be required to register
with the State of Utah for the length of time required in the previous state
or under Utah guidelines, whichever is longer. Non-Resident Volunteers are required to register.
. Repeat offenders are required to register for life.
. Individuals who have had to register as a juvenile and who
commit a subsequent offense as an adult are subject to lifetime registration
. 14 of 26 offenses require lifetime registration; including
any conviction for an equitable offense from any other state or the US
|Verification of Address:
Yes. State of Utah by a SEMI-Annual Mailing
Local or County Law Enforcement may set their own address verification
schedules: monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly, or semi-annually
|Penalties for Non-Compliance:
Class A Misdemeanor - mandatory 90 days
confinement and 1-year probation.
Beginning 07/01/2006 - Penalties increase to:
3rd Degree Felony for Felony Registrants or those registrants subject
to lifetime registration;
Class A Misdemeanor for Misdemeanant Registrants.
Each instance/item that failed to be reported/registered may be
|Access to Information:
Via the Internet;
If Internet access is not available, the public may contact the Sex Offender Registration Program and petition to receive the information via U.S. Mail.
||6,998 (Utah’s count dropped because Utah stopped the practice of publishing offenders on Utah’s website when they had left and registered in another state (Utah requires a signed registration form from the other state before Utah lets them go).)
Questions, comments, request or information regarding a registrant may be submitted to the Utah Sex Offender Registration Program at;